Teacher Certification

TLAC has many different opportunities for students to obtain a teaching certification in the state of Texas:

Undergraduate Students

Current undergraduate students work with the TLAC Field Experiences Office, which are responsible for administrating and organizing field placements. Students pursuing the certification program must first be admitted to upper level.

The TLAC Field Experiences Office also coordinates the Education Career Fair.

The Certification Process Flow Chart outlines the process you will take from acceptance to your upper-level coursework to graduation. If you have any questions about certification tests, forms or procedures, contact Misti Corn at (979) 845-5360 or mistihcorn@tamu.edu.

Undergraduate Degree Programs

  1. EC-6 Generalist
  2. Middle Grades 4-8 Math/Science
  3. Middle Grades 4-8 Language Arts/Social Studies

Graduate Students

Reading specialist graduate students are encouraged to pursue a Master Reading Teacher Certification or Reading Specialist Certification while completing their degree.

College Graduates

College graduates wishing to obtain their teaching certification may participate in the Accelerate Online Program. Admissions to Texas A&M is not required, and the program is offered completely online over 12-18 months.

Students who have completed, or will complete, a bachelor’s degree and desire certification to teach in Texas public schools at the secondary level may complete the Secondary Graduate Certification Program.