The Department of Teaching, Learning & Culture

Teaching, Learning and Culture (TLAC) encompasses students, faculty and staff whose efforts and interests center on the many different aspects of academics, teaching and classroom education. TLAC’s mission is to create experiences that advance teaching, research and service through the application of knowledge in the preparation and development of quality educators; placing high value on collaboration, critical thinking, creativity, democratic governance and global leadership.

Having two highly-ranked graduate programs within one department serves as an index of the world-class academic programs and faculty who are committed to a culture of excellence in research and discovery, and the scholarship of teaching.

-Dr. Michael de Miranda, Dean of The School of Education and Human Development 

From Our Former Students

“One of the things that set this program apart is that it is located within the Teaching, Learning & Culture Department at Texas A&M. There’s more to teaching than just delivering a curriculum or instructional strategy; we have to consider the influence that culture has one what we do.”

Dr. Byron William

Online Ed.D in Curriculum & Instruction


Former TLAC student teaching middlegrades


TLAC offers a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Education, with one of three focuses.

Former TLAC student teaching middlegrades

Graduate Programs

The Culture and Curriculum program offers students the opportunity to learn and grow in many areas.

students studying on computer for teacher certification


Providing greater opportunities and flexibility for students, TLAC offers online degree programs, in addition to many individual Web-based classes.

kid working online


TLAC offers several types of certificates for students as well as Texas Teacher Certifications

Reading Specialist Certification

Reading Specialist Certification

Reading Specialist Certification

The Reading Specialist certification program is a state of Texas teaching certification.

    Credential in Effective College Instruction by ACUE and ACE

    Reading Specialist Certification Requirements


    Certification Requirements

    • Admission to the graduate program of Texas A&M University in the School of Education and Human Development, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture (TLAC).
    • Specific coursework offered by TLAC
    • A valid Texas teaching certificate.
    • The successful completion of a TExES examination, given by the State of Texas.
    • Two years of teaching experience at an accredited school – can be completed before, during or after coursework.
    • Students must declare their interest in pursuing the Reading Specialist certification when accepting the admission offer for the master’s graduate program.
    • Students must also claim a TEA ID# if they do not already have one. The TEA ID# must be claimed at the time of admission into the master’s program.
    • All requested information must be provided by the student by the deadlines provided.
    • Students who began their graduate studies prior to 2014 can no longer be approved to take the exam(s).


    Resources & Course Requirements


    The Reading Specialist certification program requires students to contact an advisor at the time of admission into the master’s graduate program in order to be eligible to pursue the certification.

    Students will need to provide a TEA ID# and a UIN within 7 days of their acceptance notification.

    The Reading Specialist certificate is a State of Texas teaching certificate that requires:

    • 7 specific courses (see below)
    • The successful completion of a TExES examination
    • A valid Texas teaching certificate
    • Two years of successful teaching experience in an accredited school (can be completed before, during, or after coursework)

    Current guidelines can be found on the TEA website.

    View master’s admissions requirements.

    Program Details

    Degree: Educator Certification Program
    Program Delivery: Online or On-Campus



    Request Information

    Request Information - Graduate Programs
    Have you been in contact with an Advisor?
    Interested in:
    Which program area(s)?
    Select all that apply.
    Which program area(s)?
    Select all that apply.
    Which program area(s)?
    Select all that apply.

    Can't find what you are looking for?

    Contact TLAC